Board of Directors

  The Board of Directors of the United Way of Morgan County consists of 7 men and women from various vocations who represent the different areas of the county. They are volunteers, receiving no payment of any kind for their many hours of service. We have representatives from education, retail, banking, engineering, health professionals, auctioneer, insurance and the religious sector. They represent Fort Morgan, Brush, Wiggins and Weldona. The Board of Directors is a three year commitment. The officers, which include: president, president-elect, secretary and treasurer serve one year terms unless requested to serve additional years.

Service Area

United Way of Morgan County serves Morgan County.


Executive Director

Executive Director for 2018 is Sande Bitner. I currently reside in Brush, Colorado and have lived in Morgan County my entire life with the exception of being born on the air force base in Cheyenne, Wyoming.  I am currently working for Morgan County Government as an elected official as the Clerk and Recorder and have worked for Morgan County Government for 20 years!  I previously worked for the State of Colorado so have worked in the world of government for over 30 years. I am married to Mike Bailey, who is employed as the Facilities Director for the Morgan County School District for the last 30 years and we have two sons, Shawn, 34 years of age, who lives and works in Snowmass, Colorado, and Tyler, who we lost to a tragic accident at the age of 14.  My husband and I enjoy camping, riding motorcycles, family and serving our community. 


Board President

The Board President for 2018 is is Robert Tolson. Bob Tolson is pastor of Immanuel Evangelical Church in Fort Morgan. He and wife, Debra, have three children: Abigail, Melissa and Bobby. Bob was raised in Houston, Texas and graduated from John Brown University in Siloam Springs, Arkansas and Dallas Theological Seminary in Dallas, Texas. He served as Youth Pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Huntsville, Alabama before moving to Fort Morgan.


Board President – Elect

Board President – Elect for 2018 is Robert Allen. Robert is a Colorado native from Brighton. He has a BSME from the University of Missouri (Rolla)and has worked in various positions within the Public Service Company of Colorado/Xcel Energy for over 30 years. Robert has been at the Pawnee Power Plant for over 20 years, and is currently the Operations Manager. His wife of more than 30 years is Sally. She works at the East Morgan County Library. Robert and Sally reside in Brush and are active with church and hobbies. Sally enjoys sewing, quilting and genealogy, Robert enjoys hunting, fishing and camping.


Board Secretary

The Board Secretary for 2018 is Sonya Bass.  Sonya is lifetime resident of Morgan County.  She was raised in Brush, graduating from Brush High School.  She then attended the University of Northern Colorado, where she obtained her nursing degree.  She is married to John, and they have three sons and one granddaughter.  She is the Chief Nursing Officer at Colorado Plains Medical Center, where she has worked for over 30 years.  Sonya is returning to the United Way Board after being term limited off several years ago.  She is a lifetime member of the First Christian Church and is also on the Board for the Eben Ezer Foundation and the Eben Ezer Lutheran Care Center.  She enjoys reading, traveling, and spending time with her family. 


Board Treasurer

The Board Treasurer for 2018 is Allison Miller. Alison is one of the newest members to the United Way Board of Directors.  She grew up in Yuma, Colorado and graduated from Colorado State University with an Agricultural Business degree. After graduation, she moved to Brush where she resides with her husband, Clay Miller. Alison serves as the Business Development Director for Harris Financial Network in Fort Morgan and is looking forward to continuing her involvement in the Fort Morgan community.


Board Member

Board Member for 2017 is Robert (Bo) Chapin.  Bo has lived in Colorado since 1965, having migrated here from outside New York.  He practices law in Brush and is on the Boards of Eben Ezer Lutheran Care Center and Foundation, Morgan Community College Foundation. and the Brush Rotary Foundation.  His primary involvement with Rotary is its’ Rotary Youth Exchange program.  He and his wife Sandy very much enjoy being grandparents to their son Ned’s and his wife Trin’s two children.  Bo and Sandy enjoy outdoor activities, especially horseback riding and skiing.


Board Member

Board Member for 2017 is Susan Bailey.  Susan Bailey, raised in Morgan County, married to Mike Bailey, who is the Director of Facilities for Fort Morgan School District,  two sons, Shawn who is age 32 and Tyler, who was called home at the early age of 14.  I am currently the Morgan County Clerk and Recorder, elected in November of 2014 and have 32 years of government experience having worked for Centennial Mental Health Center, the State of Colorado Judicial system and now Morgan County Government.  I reside in Brush, and hobbies I enjoy are camping, motorcycle riding and spending time with family and friends.


Board Member

Board Member for 2018 is Dan Scalise. Dan has been married to Merlene Anderson for 25 years and they have three grown  children. Dan has lived in Colorado since 1976 and worked at Eben Ezer for 27 years. He has served in municipal government for 20 years with 12 years on the City Council and 8 years as Mayor. He is now retired and does volunteer work on several boards and committees.


Board Member

Board Member for 2018 is George O’Clair  Bio coming soon


Board Member

Board Member for 2018 is Wendy Fritzler  Bio coming soon